Skip To The Main Content

The Greater Tennessee Stroke Network

Vanderbilt University Medical Center  |  Nashville, Tennessee | http://www.vanderbilthealth.com/clinicalneurosciences/26381


The Greater Tennessee Stroke Network will be lead by Vanderbilt University Medical Center and will be comprised of 3 key affiliate centers and over 80 referral hospitals.  The expansive territory of the network will provide new research opportunities to over 3,000 regional stroke patients each year.

Vanderbilt’s Cerebrovascular Clinical Research Office (CCRO) will oversee the Greater Tennessee Stroke Network.  In addition to being seasoned stroke researchers, the CCRO’s multidisciplinary team also specializes in designing and managing large, multicenter clinical trials for stroke.

CCRO Specialties

  • Neurosurgery
  • Neurology
  • Stroke Neurology
  • Neuroscience
  • Radiology
  • Biostatistics
  • Nursing
  • Research Administration
  • Mental Health Counseling

CCRO Clinical Trials

  • Hemorrhagic Stroke
  • Ischemic Stroke
  • Intracranial Aneurysms
  • Biomarkers for Stroke Prevention and Recovery
  • Investigational Drugs and Devices
  • Intracranial and Carotif Stenosis
  • Timing for Endovascular Intervention
Principal Investigator
Michael Froehler, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor
Director, Cerebrovascular Service
Neruology & Neurosurgery
11621 21st Ave., S., A-0118 MC
Nashville, TN 37232
615-636-0060
m.froehler@vanderbilt.edu

Co-Investigators
Walter Frontera, MD, Ph.D.
Chair, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Professor, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Medical Director, Rehabilitation Services
2201 Children’s Way
Vanderbilt Stallworth Rehabilitation Hospital
Nashville, TN 37232
615-322-7578
Walter.Frontera@Vanderbilt.edu
 

Elizabeth Heitman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, The Center for biomedical Ethics and Society
2525 West End Avenue, 4th floor
Nashville, TN 37203
615-936-2686
Elizabeth.Heitman@Vanderbilt.edu

Lori Jordan, MD, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Pediatric Neurology
2200 Children’s Way
Doctor’s Office Tower 11242
Nashville, TN 37232
615-936-5536
Lori.Jordan@Vanderbilt.edu

Sub-Investigator
Howard Kirshner, MD
Director, Comprehensive Stroke Center
Professor of Neurology
1161 21 st. Ave., S., A-1116 MCN
Nashville, TN 37232
615-936-0060
howard.kirshner@vanderbilt.edu

J Mocco, MD. MS
Adjunct Associate Professor
j.mocco@vanderbilt.edu

Project Managers
Bree Burks, RN, MSN
Director
Cerebrovascular Clinical Research Office
615-875-7606
bree.burks@vanderbilt.edu

Jessica Collins, B.A.
Manager
Cerebrovascular Clinical Research Office
615-343-6485
jessica.collins@vanderbilt.edu

 
Affiliated Satellites / Performance Sites

Fort Sanders Regional Medical Center
PI - Keith Woodward, MD
Coordinator - Carla Staruk, RN, ACRP
865-541-2925

Huntsville Hospital
PI - Amit Arora, MD
Coordinator - Jill Newman, CNRP
256-265-9123



Greater Tennessee Stroke Network - Coverage Area

Greater Tennessee Stroke Network