Skip To The Main Content

Chicago Stroke Trials Consortium

 

Chicago Stroke Trials Consortium | 710 N. Lake Shore Drive, Suite 1417 | Chicago, IL 60611 | http://www.neurology.northwestern.edu/research/clinical-trials.html
 

The Chicago Stroke Trials Consortium (CSTC) led by the RCC at Northwestern University is a collaborative network of 7 centers in the Chicago metropolitan area: Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Lurie Children’s Hospital, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago, the University of Chicago, Rush University Medical Center, Loyola University Chicago, and the Hektoen Institute for Medical Research/John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital of Cook County. The RCC aims to combine resources, diverse faculty with stroke expertise, and access to a multi-ethnic population of stroke patients from a combined geographic referral base encompassing almost 10 million people. The amassed investigators have backgrounds in all aspects of stroke research and leadership roles. The CSTC aims to provide cutting-edge stroke treatments to a diverse patient population, provide consolidated multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional expertise and leadership for Network trials, and ensure mentoring for the next generation of stroke investigators.

Principal Investigator: 
Shyam Prabhakaran, MD, MS, FAHA, FANA
Associate Professor of Neurology
Director, Stroke Research, Director, Vascular Neurology Fellowship
Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University
710 N. Lake Shore Drive, Suite 1417
Chicago, IL 60611                                                    
Phone Number: 312.503.2994                                                         
email: sprabhak@nm.org
 
Areas of Interest: intracranial stenosis, acute stroke, transient ischemic attack 

Co- Investigator(s):
Richard Bernstein, MD, PhD 
Professor of Neurology
Director, Northwestern Medicine Stroke and Telestroke Program
Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University
710 N. Lake Shore Drive, Suite 1421
Chicago, IL 0611
Phone Number: 312.503.4394                                                        
email: rbernste@nm.org
 
Areas of Interest: Cryptogenic stroke, novel anticoagulants, atrial fibrillation

Elliot Roth, MD
Medical Director, Patient Recovery Unit
Professor and Chairman, PM&R, Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine
Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago
Phone Number: 312.238.1657
Email: eroth@ric.org

Areas of Interest: rehabilitation, medical co-morbidities, functional outcome measures
 
Clinical Coordinator: Jillian Lux, CCRC
Northwestern University
633 N. St. Clair, 20th Floor
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:   312.503.3959
Email: jillian.lux@nm.org
                                
Names and Addresses of affiliated Satellites/Performance Sites: 
Subcontract site PIs:

REHABILITATION INSTITUTE OF CHICAGO
Site PI:  Elliott Roth, MD
eroth@ric.org
312.238.1657

Coordinator:  Meredith Rathert
mrathert@ric.org
312.238.3647

Website Link: www.ric.org/research/clinical-trials/results/
 
ANN & ROBERT H. LURIE CHILDREN’S HOSPITAL OF CHICAGO
Site PI:   Mark Wainwright, MD, PhD  
m-wainwright@northwestern.edu
312.227.3550

Coordinator:  Allison Rusie
arusie@luriechildrens.org
312.227.4292

Website Link: https://www.luriechildrens.org/en-us/care-services/specialties-services/neurology/programs/Pages/neurocritical-care-program.aspx

RUSH UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER

Site PI: James Conners, MD
James_conners@rush.edu
312.942.4500

Coordinator: Tiffany Singson
 tiffany_singson@rush.edu
312.563.2208

Website Link:     http://www.rush.edu/rumc/page-1167751311467.html

UNIVERSITY OF CHICAGO
Site PI: James Brorson, MD
jbrorson@neurology.bsd.uchicago.edu
773.702.7215
 
Coordinator: Cedric McKoy, MSN, ACNP
cedric.mckoy@uchospitals.edu
773.834.7854

Coordinator: Agnieszka Stadnik, MS, CCRP
astadnik@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu
773.702.8996

Website Link:     https://neurology.uchicago.edu/page/stroke

LOYOLA UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER
Site PI’s:  José Biller, MD, FACP, FAAN, FANA, FAHA
jbiller@lumc.edu
708.216.2438

Coordinator:  Katelynn Prodoehl, BSN, RN
 kprodoehl@lumc.edu
708.216.8122

Website Link: http://loyolamedicine.org/medical-services/neurology-services
 
JOHN H. STROGER JR. HOSPITAL OF COOK COUNTY
Site PI: Michael Kelly, MD
mkelly@cookcountyhhs.org
312.864.7280

Coordinator: Adaku Uzomba, RN, APN
auzomba@cookcountyhhs.org
312.864.7293

Website Link:   http://www.cookcountyhhs.org/medical-clinicalservices/department-medicine/neurology/john-h-stroger-jr-hospital-stroke-program/

CENTRAL DUPAGE HOSPITAL
Site PI: Harish Shownkeen, MD
harish.shownkeen@cadencehealth.org
630.933.2133

Coordinator:  Komal Shama
komal.sharma@cadencehealth.org
630.933.6107

Coordinator:  Kathy Hansen, RN
kathy.hansen@cadencehealth.org
630.933.6107
 
Website Link: http://www.cadencehealth.org/health-professionals/clinical-trials-trials-neuro

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT CHICAGO
Site PI: Sepideh Amin-Hanjani, MD
hanjani@uic.edu
312.996.4842

Site PI:  Fernando Testai, MD, PhD
testai@uic.edu
312.996.1047

Coordinator:  Linda Rose-Finnell
lfinnell@uic.edu
312.355.2050

Coordinator: Maureen Hillman, RN
hillman@uic.edu
312.355.3863

Coordinator: Mariela Girotti, MS, RN
mgirotti@uic.edu
312.996.2949