Skip To The Main Content

Southern New England Partnership in Stroke Research, Innovation and Treatment (SPIRIT)


Southern New England Partnership in Stroke Research, Innovation and Treatment (SPIRIT)

The Southern New England Partnership in Stroke Research, Innovation and Treatment (SPIRIT) is anchored by 3 leading institutions: Yale School of Medicine, the Warren Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University and Hartford Hospital.  Each hub is a comprehensive stroke center with 14 total primary stroke centers.  Yale, Brown and Hartford Hospital, and their respective networks, SPIRIT captures a diverse geographic area that provides access to 5.7 million people, including most adult and pediatric stroke patients in Connecticut and Rhode Island.

SPIRIT (Southern New England Partnership in Stroke Research, Innovation and Treatment)

15 York Street
LCI 1004
New Haven, CT  06520

  1. https://medicine.yale.edu/neurology/patients/vascular_neuro/
  2. https://www.lifespan.org/centers-services/comprehensive-stroke-center-rhode-island-hospital
  3. https://hartfordhealthcare.org/services/stroke-center

PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR

Kevin Sheth, MD
Professor of Neurology and Neurosurgery
Chief, Division of Neurocritical Care and Emergency Neurology
Yale School of Medicine
Phone: 443-615-4729
email: kevin.sheth@yale.edu

Areas of Interest: Secondary Brain Injury and Inflammation, Novel clinical trial design for prevention, Mechanisms of injury and recovery for translation.
 

CO-PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATORS

Karen L. Furie, MD
Professor of Neurology, Chair of Neurology
The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Chief of Neurology
Rhode Island, The Miriam and Bradley Hospitals
Samuel I. Kennison, MD and Bertha S. Kennison Professor of Clinical Neuroscience
Professor of Neurology, Chair of Neurology
Phone: 401-444-8795
email: kfurie@lifespan.org

Areas of Interest: Stroke prevention, Acute stroke/ neurointerventional, Neurocritical care
 

Mark Alberts, MD, FAHA
Physician-in-chief, Ayer Neuroscience Institute Hartford Healthcare
Chief, Department of Neurology, Hartford Hospital
Phone: 860-972-9618
email: mark.alberts@hhchealth.org

Areas of Interest: Acute stroke care, Secondary stroke prevention,  Stroke centers/stroke systems of care 

Richard E. Temes, MD, MS
Director, Center for Neurocritical Care
Northshore LlJ Health System
300 Community Dr.
Manhasset, NY 11030
Office: 516-562-3068
Fax: 516-562-3631

Area of Interest: Stroke prevention, acute treatment, and recovery; Neurocritical care; Neurosurgery
 

SPIRIT Program Manager
Ruth Arnold, PhD
Yale School of Medicine
Stroke and Neurology Critical Care
Phone:  203-809-8726
email: ruth.arnold@yale.edu

 
 RHODE ISLAND HOSPITAL TRIAL OPERATIONS
 
Tina M. Burton, MD
 Assistant Professor of Neurology
 The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
 Rhode Island Hospital, Department of Neurology, Division of Vascular Neurology
 Phone: 401-444-8806
 email:  tina.burton@lifespan.org

RHODE ISLAND HOSPITAL TRIAL OPERATIONS

 Shadi Yaghi, MD
 Co-Director, Comprehensive Stroke Center, Rhode Island Hospital
 Director, Research at the Neurovascular Center, Rhode Island Hospital
 Director, Vascular Neurology, Lifespan
 email: syaghi1@lifespan.org

 RHODE ISLAND HOSPITAL PRIMARY COORDINATOR

 Ashley Schomer
 Research Supervisor
 Phone: 401-606-4387
 email: Ashley.Schomer@lifespan.org

 HARTFORD HEALTHCARE TRIAL OPERATIONS
 Amre Nouh, MD
 Director, Comprehensive Stroke Center at Hartford Hospital
 Phone: 860-972-3621
email: amre.nouh@hhchealth.org

 HARTFORD HEALTHCARE PRIMARY COORDINATOR
 Laura Grenier, BA, BS, CRA, CCRC
 Neuroscience Clinical Research Coordinator
 Phone: 860-972-9705
 email: laura.grenier@hhchealth.org

 NORTHWELL HEALTH PRIMARY COORDINATOR
 Betsy Moclair RN, CCRC
 Director, Clinical Research Programs
 Department of Neurosurgery 
 300 Community Drive 
 Manhasset, NY 11030
 Phone: (516) 253-7753
 Email: bmoclair@norhwell.edu

 YALE TRIAL OPERATIONS
 Lauren Sansing, MD
 Associate Professor of Neurology
 Phone: 203-785-4085
 email: lauren.sansing@yale.edu