Skip To The Main Content

UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN STROKE NET

The University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics  |  Department of Neurological Surgery  |  Clinical Sciences Center (K4/8)
600 Highland Avenue  |  Madison, Wisconsin 53792  |  http://www.neurosurgery.wisc.edu

The Wisconsin Stroke Net (WSN) is based at the University of Wisconsin, Madison focusing research efforts on stroke prevention, treatment, and recovery. WSN is comprised of adult and pediatric vascular neurosurgeons, neurologists, endovascular surgeons, neuroradiologists, anesthesiologists, physiatrists, emergency physicians, and research specialists. Over 30 health care entities from throughout the region and serving diverse populations are represented within the WSN. We aim to improve the lives of our patients through collaborative research across the stroke spectrum.

Affiliated Satellites
Aurora Health Care (Aurora St. Luke’s Medical Center & Aurora BayCare Medical Center)
www.aurorahealthcare.org
Marshfield Clinic
www.marshfieldresearch.org
Ministry St. Joseph’s Hospital
ministryhealth.org/SJH/home.nws
Sacred Heart Hospital
www.sacredhearteauclaire.org
SSM Health Care of Wisconsin, St. Mary's Hospital
www.ssmhealth.com/system/locations/wi-st-marys-madison/
Gundersen Lutheran
www.gundersenhealth.org/education-and-research
Beloit Health
www.beloithealthsystem.org
Alexian Brothers Health System (Alexian Brothers Medical Center, Alexian Rehabilitation Hospital, St. Alexius Medical Center, Alexian Brothers Women & Children's Hospital)
www.alexianbrothershealth.org/neurosciences/services/clinical-research
Swedish American Health
www.swedishamerican.org
Wheaton Franciscan Services
www.mywheaton.org
Meriter Hospital
www.meriter.com

The following sites are referrals: 
Grant Regional Health Center, Divine Savior Healthcare, Ho-Chunk Nation, Soutwest Health Center, Richland Hospital, Watertown, Beaver Dam and Monroe Clinic


Principal Investigator
Robert J. Dempsey, MD

Chairman and Manucher J. Javid
Professor of Neurological Surgery
Director Comprehensive Stroke Center
(608) 265-5967
dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu
Areas of Interest: cerebral ischemia, effect of vascular disease on cognition, cerebral vascular revascularization, and repair of the injured brain

Co-Investigator
Azam S. Ahmed, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurological Surgery and Radiology
(608) 263-1410
azam.ahmed@neurosurgery.wisc.edu
Areas of Interest: endovascular imaging, stroke intervention, and hemorrhagic stroke

Collaborator

David B. Niemann, MD

Associate Professor Neurological Surgery
Director Endovascular Service
(608) 265-5967
niemann@neurosurgery.wisc.edu
Areas of Interest:  hyperacute stroke, stroke systems of care, and stroke rehab

Collaborator
Beverly Aagaard-Kienitz, MD
Professor (CHS) Radiology and Neurological Surgery
Program Director, Neuroendovascular Fellowship-Endovascular
Neurosurgery/Neurointerventional Surgery
(608) 263-4730
Baagaard-kienitz@uwhealth.org
Areas of Interest: Neuroendovascular/Neurointerventional treatments of stroke, cerebral aneurysm, AVM embolization, vascular malformation sclerotherapy, tumor embolization

Collaborator
Justin A. Sattin, MD
Associate Professor (CHS) of Neurology
Medical Director Comprehensive Stroke Center
(608) 263-5448
sattin@neurology.wisc.edu
Areas of Interest: endovascular imaging, stroke intervention, and hemorrhagic stroke
 

Collaborator
Edward "Luke" Bradbury, MD
Assistant Professor Neurology
(608) 263-5448
bradbury@neurology.wisc.edu
Area of Interest:  acute stroke imaging, primary and secondary prevention of strokes, strokes in younger populations

Collaborator
Mustafa K. Baskaya, MD
Associate Professor Neurological Surgery
Director of Skull Base Program
(608) 263-1410
baskaya@neurosurgery.wisc.edu
Areas of Interest: Neurogenesis and stem cells in cerebral ischemia, Ischemic pre-conditioning, Microsurgical anatomy and approaches to the Skull Base, Neuronatomy

Collaborator
Joshua E. Medow, MD
Associate Professor Neurological Surgery
Director Neurocritical Care
(608) 263-1410
medow@neurosurgery.wisc.edu
Areas of Interest: treatment of acute traumatic brain injury and cerebrovascular disease

Collaborator

Bermans
J. Iskandar, MD

Professor Neurological Surgery
(608) 263-1410
Iskandar@neurosurgery.wisc.edu
Area of interest:  craniofacial repair, brachial plexus reconstruction, endoscopic surgery for tumors, congenital brain anomalies

Collaborator
Natalie C. Wheeler, MD, JD
Assistant Professor Neurology
(608) 262-8077
nwheeler@neurology.wisc.edu
Area of interest:  Stroke and other cerebrovasular conditions, improvement and medicolegal and ethical issues in stroke care

Collaborator
Raghu Vemuganti, PhD
Professor Neurological Surgery
(608) 263-4055
Vemuganti@neurosurgery.wisc.edu
Area of interest:  Plasticity and Repair, Molecular Neuroscience, Neurobiology of Disease

Collaborator

Umadevi Wesley, PhD

Research Professor Neurological Surgery
(608) 262-7962 / (608) 263-1410
wesley@neurosurgery.wisc.edu
Areas of interest: Molecular mechanisms of neurological tumors/stem cell differentiation, survival, migration, and angiogenesis

Clinical Research Unit:
Stephanie M. Wilbrand, PhD

Clinical Trials Manager
(608) 265-9248
wilbrand@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Jill Iwanski
Research Coordinator - Administrative Liaison
(608) 262-6493
iwanski@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Jennifer Reckner
Research Coordinator - Outreach Liaison
(608) 262-7481
reckner@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

Brooke Tashner
Research Coordinator
(608) 261-1577
tashner@neurosurgery.wisc.edu
 
Niki Virnig
Administration
(608) 262-1101
virnig@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

RCC24 – StrokeNet Fellow 2017-2018
Ignatius Ngene Esene, PhD
esene@wisc.edu